HighLights

Blogging to keep you informed about what's up at the High Library


Leave a comment

New Database … Museum Images Online

Spotlight on a new online database

Spotlight on a new online database

New Database Spotlight – CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

OCLC’s CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. Currently, twenty five museums are featured including the Philadelphia Museum of Art, Asia Society Galleries, Carnegie Museum of Art, the Brooklyn Children’s Museum, and the Library of Congress.

CAMIO highlights the art of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times. Users can explore architecture, books, costumes and jewelry, decorative arts and utilitarian objects, drawings and watercolors, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture and textiles.

CAMIO is licensed for use by all students, faculty, and researchers at Elizabethtown College. This means that works of art may be used for educational and research purposes as long as they are properly credited. Users can download high-resolution images to print or email; however the images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

 

Check out this great resource today! You can also access CAMIO from home. Watch this video to learn how to access High Library databases from off-campus.


Leave a comment

eenie meenie miny mo or how to choose the right database

knowing how to choose the right database can help you save precious time ... ask us how

knowing how to choose the right database can help you save precious time … ask us how

Targeted Searching

 

Scratching your head trying to determine the best place to search for articles on your topic? With over 65 databases to choose from it’s no wonder. Fear not, the library has arranged article databases by subject. By viewing databases arranged by subject, you can see which databases are most likely to contain information on your topic. Please remember if you have questions about finding information, librarians are ready and willing to assist you via txt (717-759-9178), e-mail (ask@etown.libanswers.com) phone (717-361-1461), and in person at the reference desk.